Bihar assembly collectively passes GST Bill

Photo used for representation.

Patna: In a special session today the Bihar assembly collectively passed the Goods and Services Tax (GST) Bill, 2017.

The state assembly Speaker Vijay Kumar Choudhary went on to say that all the parties including the ruling Grand Alliance of Janata Dal-United, Rashtriya Janata Dal and the Congress and opposition Bharatiya Janata Party supported the passage of the Bill.

It paves way for July 1 roll out of the GST, the single tax regime that will replace multiple state and central taxes to create one national market.

Read:- We don’t want to do ‘dalali’ on our faith: Rahul Gandhi

Senior Congress leader Sadanand Singh said the Bill was brought during the Congress led UPA government but the BJP delayed its passage in the parliament.

“GST will benefit people across the country,” he said.

It was passed in the presence of Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Minister Tejaswi Yadav and Leader of Opposition Prem Kumar.

Read:- Kashmir: 5 militants dead, 1 injured in two gunfights