Home Sports IPL 2014

India wins first test by nine wickets

Published by:
Published on: Mon, 19 Nov 2012 at 07:52 IST
India wins first test by nine wickets
Ahmedabad: India won the first cricket Test against England by nine wickets at Sardar Patel Stadium (Motera) on Monday to take the lead in the four-match series.

Virender Sehwag (25) and Cheteswar Pujara (41 not out) helped India chase down the 77-run target in 15.3 overs. Virat Kohli remained unbeaten on 11.

England, following on, were bowled out for 406 by lunch. Alastair Cook top-scored with 176 while Matt Prior made 91. Pragyan Ojha took four wickets for India in the second innings while Umesh Yadav struck thrice.

England made 191 in the first innings while India declared at 521 for eight in their first knock.
The following is the scoreboard at the end of the first cricket Test match:

India (First innings) 521/8 dec.

England (First innings) 191

England (Second innings, following on) (Overnight 340/5)
Alistair Cook b Ojha 176
Nick Compton lbw Khan 37
Jonathan Trott c Dhoni b Ojha 17
Kevin Pietersen b Ojha 2
Ian Bell lbw Yadav 22
Samit Patel lbw Yadav 0
Matt Prior c & b Ojha 91
Tim Bresnan c Rahane b Khan 20
Stuart Broad c & b Yadav 3
Graeme Swann b Ashwin 17
James Anderson not out 0
Extras (b 14, lb 6, w 1) 21
Total (all out in 154.3 overs) 406

Fall of wickets: 1-123 (Compton, 44.6 overs), 2-156 (Trott, 57.1), 3-160 (Pietersen, 59.1), 4-199 (Bell, 76.5), 5-199 (Patel, 76.6), 6-356 (Prior, 137.4), 7-365 (Cook, 141.3), 8-378 (Broad, 144.3), 9-406 (Swann, 153.5).

Umesh Yadav 23-2-70-3
Pragyan Ojha 55-16-120-4
Ravichandran Ashwin 43-9-111-1
Virender Sehwag 1-0-1-0
Zaheer Khan 27.3-5-59-2
Sachin Tendulkar 1-0-8-0
Yuvraj Singh 4-0-17-0

India (Second innings)
Virender Sehwag c Pietersen b Swann 25
Cheteshwar Pujara not out 41
Virat Kohli not out 14
Extras 0
Total (For one wicket in 15.3 overs) 80

James Anderson 2-0-10-0
Graeme Swann 7.3-1-43-1
Samit Patel 6-0-24-0

Match details:
Toss: India chose to bat
Series: India lead the four-match series 1-0
Test debut: Nick Compton (England)
Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan) and Tony Hill (New Zealand)
TV umpire: Sudhir Asnani
Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (Sri Lanka)
Reserve umpire: Anil Chowdhury
Exclusive: Sunny Leone’s hot-sexy snaps from Mastizaade
Steamy Bipasha Basu and Karan Singh Grover in scary Alone!
Taylor Swift Hot Pictures From Magazine Covers
Sunny Leone sets sea on fire for Manforce ad campaign
Most popular scenes from Bollywood epic film DDLJ
Poonam Pandey exposes seductively for Brexelant breast enhancement cream campaign
Lucknow Mahotsav begins
Madhuri Dixit visits Lucknow to dedicate Literature Carnival to Child Rights
Akhilesh Yadav launches Modern Police Control Room, 1090 app for better UP
Kim Kardashian Exposes Deep Cleavage at Perfume Launch Event in Melbourne
Hot South Actress Nayanthara
Salman Khan, Shahrukh Khan reunite for sister Arpita Khan
Kim Kardashian strips for top Magazine Covers
Sensational Poonam Pandey in Viru's 'Malini & Co'
Kim Kardashian flaunts nudity for PAPER magazine
Amit Shah to lead BJP charge in Delhi too
Sonia Gandhi's health improving: Doctors
Former DMK leader Napoleon joins BJP
Opinion Polls
Bigg Boss 8: Who should be evicted this week?
Karishma Tanna
Upen Patel
Sonali Raut
Praneet Bhatt

Pardaphash name, logo and all associated elements ® and © 2011 Mahakaal News Management Pvt. Ltd.
All rights reserved. Pardaphash and the Pardaphash logo are registered marks of Mahakaal News management Pvt. Ltd.
Pardaphash is hosted with Enzoo could compute engine.
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
This page is generated in : 0.008 Seconds

EXCLUSIVE: T Ram, CP Singh, RN Yadav, RK Goyal following Yadav Singh in UP