Home Sports IPL 2014

RCB vs MI Live: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) wins in last over battle

Published by: Shubhanshu Sharma
Published on: Thu, 04 Apr 2013 at 18:26 IST
RCB vs MI Live: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) wins in last over battle
Bangalore: After winning the toss, new appointed Mumbai Indians (MI) skipper Ricky Ponting opted to bowl in the second match of Indian Premier League (IPL) season 6 against the hosts Royal Challenger Bangalore (RCB). They started off quite well but Chris Gayle with the bat and R Vinay Kumar with the ball shattered their intentions and helped RCB to clinch victory by two runs in the nail biting last over battle.

However, Dinesh Karthik his team to reach near by the total of 156 runs before getting out in the last over. Which MI failed to utilize.

He played a brilliant knock and scored 60 runs off 37 balls with 3 fours and 4 sixes. His partner Ambati Rayudu also followed him to the pavilion and got out after scoring 18 runs. Pollard also tried his best to but couldnt overcome RCB.

However, MI had got the benefit of the toss earlier in the match, when Mitchell Johnson knocked down TM Dilshan's wicket in the third over of the match when the score was just 3 runs. However, RCB skipper Virat Kohli and aggressive opener batsman Chris Gayle took the charge and started scoring at a healthy run rate. But quickly Kohli was adjudged lbw to young paceman Jasprit Bumrah after scoring quick 24 runs.

After him each and every batsman started following him to the pavilion. But it was Gayle, who played like one man army to notch up a total of 156 runs at the end of 20 overs. Young wicket-keeper batsman Arun Karthik also played a handy knock of 19 runs and provided good support to Gayle.

Bumrah was pick of the bowlers from MI as he bagged 3 wickets in his 4 overs and gave away 32 runs. Johnson and Harbhajan Singh also took one wicket each in their respective spells.

When MI came on the field to chase down the total of 156 runs, it turned to be a historic moment in Cricket as Ponting came on to open the innings along with the legendary batsman Sachin Tendulkar. Both of them started off slowly but quickly started accelerating. Sachin becomes the victim of misunderstanding between the two batting greats and got run out after scoring 23 runs off 19 balls with 4 fours.

Ponting also departed quickly after scoring 28 off 33 balls. He was sharply stumped by the wicket-keeper. Rohit Sharma was clean bowled by R Vinay Kumar after scoring 11 runs of 11 balls. He was trying to play an over ambitious shot across the line. RCB bowlers kept it tight till the end and made it really hard for the batsmen to score boundaries.

From here on, Dinesh Karthik started dealing in sixes and quickly completed his half century after hitting three consecutive sixes to Daniel Christian.

R Vinay Kumar won the battle for his team with the ball and bagged two consecutive wickets in the last over of the match. He was the pick of the bowlers from RCB as he bagged 3 wickets giving away only 27 runs in 4 overs. Murli Karthik also bagged one wicket.

Skipper Kohli was unstoppable at the ground after the nail-biting win over MI.

Pictures: Holi celebration at Pardaphash office
Indonesia Fashion Week 2014 in Jakarta
Success party of television serial Balika Vadhu
Promotion of film Queen
Absolut Elyx party hosted by the Suchitra Pillai
Announcement of Goa Carnival 2014
Supriya Keshari in special Valentine`s Day Theme Photo Shoot
Photoshoot of Tanisha Singh to show her support to Rahul Gandhi
`Qubool Hai` shooting in Agra
Salman Khan visits Siddhivinayak Temple during the first edition of Little Hearts Marathon
Photoshoot of Meghna Patel to show her support to Narendra Modi
Bollywood celebs at Zee Cine Awards 2014
`The Bodywear International Trade Expo-2014`
Tanisha Singh photo shoot
Katrina Kaif launches new hair care range 6 Oil Nourish

Related Stories:-

Opinion Polls
Which team will clinch the IPL 7 trophy?
Royal Challengers Bangalore
Kings XI Punjab
Kolkata Knight Riders
Chennai Super Kings
Delhi Daredevils
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Mumbai Indians
Rajasthan Royals

Pardaphash name, logo and all associated elements ® and © 2011 Mahakaal News Management Pvt. Ltd.
All rights reserved. Pardaphash and the Pardaphash logo are registered marks of Mahakaal News management Pvt. Ltd.
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional