Home Sports IPL 2014

T20 World Cup: West Indies pound Australia to hump on home's roads

Published by: Shubhanshu Sharma
Published on: Fri, 05 Oct 2012 at 17:47 IST
T20 World Cup: West Indies pound Australia to hump on home's roads
T20 World Cup: West Indies pound Australia to hump on home's roads
Colombo: West Indies crushed the mighty Australians by a huge margin of 74 runs in the second semifinal of the ICC World Twenty20, here at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. West Indies have qualified for the final against Sri Lanka, on Sunday, 7 October, to be held at the same venue.

Chasing down the mammoth total of 206 runs, the Kangaroos got all out for 131 runs in 16.4 overs succumbing to pressure.

Australian Captain George Bailey (63 runs off 29 balls with 6 fours and 4 sixes) played captains knock but couldn't find the way to victory. Besides him there was no batsman who could stand and deliver for a while. For the first time in the series Aussies couldn't got off to a good start, as Shane Watson and David Warner were forced to the pavilion by West Indian bowlers.

Earlier, Chris Gayle (75 runs off 41 balls with 5 fours and 6 sixes) and Kieron Pollard (38 runs off 15 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes) played explosive innings to mount the mammoth total 205 for the loss of 4 wickets. Dwayne Bravo also played a handy knock of 37 runs in 31 balls.

Following is the scoreboard of the second World Twenty20 semi-final between West Indies and Australia at the R. Premadasa Stadium here on Friday.

West Indies:
Johnson Charles c Wade b Starc 10
Chris Gayle not out 75
Marlon Samuels b Cummins 26
Dwayne Bravo c Bailey b Cummins 37
Kieron Pollard c Warner b Doherty 38

Extras: (b 6, lb 5, w 8) 19
Total: (For four wickets in 20 overs) 205

Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Charles, 2.5 overs), 2-57 (Samuels, 7.2), 3-140 (Bravo, 15.5), 4-205 (Pollard, 19.6 ov)

Mitchell Starc 4-0-32-1
Shane Watson 4-0-35
Pat Cummins 4-0-36-2
Xavier Doherty 3-0-48-1
Brad Hogg 3-0-21-0
David Hussey 2-0-22-0

David Warner b Badree 1
Shane Watson b Badree 7
Michael Hussey c and b Samuels 18
Cameron White c Ramdin b Rampaul 5
George Bailey c Russell b Pollard 63
David Hussey c and b Rampaul 0
Mathew Wade c Badree b Narine 1
Pat Cummins c Charles b Pollard 13
Mitchell Starc b Rampaul 2
Brad Hogg st Ramdin b Narine 7
Xavier Doherty not out 9

Extras: (lb 3, w 2) 5
Total: (All out in 16.4 overs) 131

Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Warner, 0.6 overs), 2-22 (MEK Hussey, 3.1), 3-29 (Watson, 4.3), 4-42 (White, 6.1), 5-42 (DJ Hussey, 6.3), 6-43 (Wade, 7.2), 7-111 (Bailey, 13.2), 8-111 (Cummins, 13.3), 9-121 (Hogg, 15.1) and 10-131 (Starc, 16.4).

Samuel Badree 4-0-27-2
Marlon Samuels 3-0-26-1
Ravi Rampaul 3.4-0-16-3
Sunil Narine 3-0-17-2
Andre Russell 1-0-25-0
Darren Sammy 1-0-11-0
Kieron Pollard 1-0-6-2

Toss: West Indies chose to bat
Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan) and Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)
TV umpire: Richard Kettleborough (England)
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle
Reserve umpire: Asad Rauf (Pakistan)

Pictures: Holi celebration at Pardaphash office
Indonesia Fashion Week 2014 in Jakarta
Success party of television serial Balika Vadhu
Promotion of film Queen
Absolut Elyx party hosted by the Suchitra Pillai
Announcement of Goa Carnival 2014
Supriya Keshari in special Valentine`s Day Theme Photo Shoot
Photoshoot of Tanisha Singh to show her support to Rahul Gandhi
`Qubool Hai` shooting in Agra
Salman Khan visits Siddhivinayak Temple during the first edition of Little Hearts Marathon
Photoshoot of Meghna Patel to show her support to Narendra Modi
Bollywood celebs at Zee Cine Awards 2014
`The Bodywear International Trade Expo-2014`
Tanisha Singh photo shoot
Katrina Kaif launches new hair care range 6 Oil Nourish

Related Stories:-

Opinion Polls
Which team will clinch the IPL 7 trophy?
Royal Challengers Bangalore
Kings XI Punjab
Kolkata Knight Riders
Chennai Super Kings
Delhi Daredevils
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Mumbai Indians
Rajasthan Royals

Pardaphash name, logo and all associated elements ® and © 2011 Mahakaal News Management Pvt. Ltd.
All rights reserved. Pardaphash and the Pardaphash logo are registered marks of Mahakaal News management Pvt. Ltd.
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional