10 Maoists guerrillas surrender in Jharkhand

Photo used for representation.

Ranchi: According to the information given by the sources, ten Maoists guerrillas including three women and three of their commanders surrendered before the police in Jharkhand’s Lohardaga district today.

According to the police, the Maoists surrendered before Ranchi range Deputy Inspector General of Police A.B. Homkar.

Of the ten Maoists, one is a sub-zonal commander and two are area commanders.

Read:- Two Maoists killed by paramilitary force in Jharkhand

Two of the Maoists — Ramdhin Kherwar and Kaleshwar Kherwar — were carrying rewards of Rs two lakh each.

The other Maoists who surrendered were identified as Harendra Oraon, Chandreshwar Oraon, Jitendra Ganjhu, Suhram Kherwar, Sushanti Oraon, Seema Oraon, Meena Oraon and Sukhlal Nagesia.

The Maoist guerrillas have surrendered under the Surrender and Rehabilitation Policy of the state government. They would be rehabilitated as per the guidelines of the policy.

Read:- Coal Scam Case: Former Jharkhand CM Madhu Koda found Guilty of corruption

In all, 22 of the 24 districts in Jharkhand have been declared Maoist- affected. Lohardaga is among those affected.