Achal Kumar Joti takes charge as new Chief Election Commissioner

Achal Kumar Joti
Achal Kumar Jyoti takes charge as Election Commissioner of India

Achal Kumar Joti, 1975-batch Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer was today appointed as the next Chief Election Commissioner succeeding Nasim Zaidi.

Achal Kumar took charge today as the new Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and has previously served as the Gujarat chief secretary as well.

Read:- Polls for post of Vice President on Aug 5, says EC

Joti retired as the Gujarat Chief Secretary in January 2013. He was also the Secretary in the Industry, Revenue and Water Supply Departments in the State.

Joti had joined the three-member Commission as an Election Commissioner on May 8, 2015.

Read:- Presidential election date to be declared soon by EC