Another BSP leader Ashish Shukla quits party

Photo of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) leader Ashish Shukla.

Amethi: Being the latest addition to the list of names to have quit the Mayawati camp, a senior Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) leader Ashish Shukla today resigned from the party.

The leader announced about his resignation during a press conference, but denied to give any clarification about his decision.

Read:- Mayawati accuses BJP of promoting Hindutva

After Swami Prasad Maurya, RK Chowdhary and Ravindra Nath Tripathi, Ashish is another one who has quit the party ahead of the Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh slated to be held early next year.

Shukla, who unsuccessfully contested Assembly polls in 2007 and 2012 and Lok Sabha poll in 2009 on BSP ticket, was given the post of vice president of UP Khadi Gramodyog by then chief minister and BSP supremo Mayawati.

Read:- Mayawati not going to participate in RJD’s Patna rally

Before joining SP, he had unsuccessfully contested Assembly polls in 2002 on a Congress ticket.

Notably, BSP had ticked his name as the party candidate from Amethi for the forthcoming Assembly polls but later replaced him with a new face, Rahul Maurya.


Read:- Troubled days ahead for Mayawati