Are you aware about these nine colors of Navratri?

Photo of Hindu goddess Durga Mata.

The Navratri are here, a nine-day festival celebration which mark the victory of good over evil. The auspicious festival which started from 1st of October will last till October 11. This festival is dedicated by devotees to Goddess Durga and they show their respect and devotion for Goddess.

According to the Hindu lunar month of Ashwin, the tenth day is celebrated as Vijaya Dashami or Dussehra and marks the end of the Maha Navaratri or the nine days of Durga Puja.

Read:- Try this smart bandage for faster healing!

Here are nine significant colors specified for each day of Navatri:

First Day-Pratipada (RED)

Read:- Here’s all you need to know about the history of ‘Karwa Chauth’!

Devotes worship Shailaputri Maa (Bala Tripura Sundari Devi), who is the first avatar of Goddess Durga. It is believed that on this day installation of the earthen pot was done.

Second Day- Dwitiya (ROYAL BLUE)

The second form of Goddess Durga is Bharmacharini (Annapurna Devi) and color of this day is royal blue or peacock blue which is quite powerful.

Read:- Weight loss surgery linked to less risk of cancer for obese people

Third Day- Tritiya (YELLOW)

On the third day of Navaratri, the Goddess with half moon on her forehead Chandra Ghanta Maa (Gayatri Devi) devoted. She represents the symbol of peace, beauty, and bravery and which is due to color specified for this day is yellow.

Fourth Day- Chaturthi (GREEN)

The fourth form of durga Kushmanda Maa (Lalitha Devi), is worshipped by devotees worship on this day. According to mythology, Lalitha Devi is believed to be the creator of the entire world. The color for this day is green.

Read:- Eating these fruits may cut risk of heart disease!

Fifth Day- Panchami (GREY)

The fifth day is marked with the worship of fifth avatar of Durga Maa, one who demolished the demons. The grey symbolizes the vulnerability.

Sixth Day- Shashti (ORANGE)

On this day the Durga puja kicks off with full joy in West Bengal and also in many regions of the country. The Katyayani (Saraswathi Devi) Maa worshipped on this day. The orange color denotes emotional strength, warm, and happiness.

Seventh Day- Saptami (WHITE)

Read:- Here’s why you should avoid working in night shifts!

On the seventh day of Navaratri Goddess Durga is worshipped as Kaal Ratri (Durga Devi). The colour white symbolize purity, perfection, and completeness.

Eighth Day- Ashtami (PINK)

Maha Gauri (Mahishasura Mardini) is worshipped on this day. Pink is the colour of the day which marks tenderness, compassion, and beauty.

Ninth Day/Tenth Day- Navami / Dashami (SKY BLUE)

Every year on this day ninth avatar of Goddess Durga Siddhidatri (Raja Rajeswari Devi) is worshipped on this day. According to myths it is believed that this avatar has abundant supernatural powers. The sky blue color symbolize peace.

Now after nine days of worship and scarifies, finally tenth day is celebrated as Vijayadashami or Dasara.

(Note:- Story by Ila Kazmi)