Assembly Election Results 2016: BJP leading in Assam; AIADMK, Trinamool to retain power in TN, Bengal

New Delhi: On Thursday, the Assembly Poll Results of the five states – Assam, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry are being declared. Going by the trend Trinamool Congress and AIADMK are likely to retain power in West Bengal and Tamil Nadu whereas BJP is leading in Assam. Also, Left has made a comeback in Kerala whereas Congress+ is leading in Puducherry.

As counting in West Bengal continues, Trinamool is seen winning from almost all the seats in the polls. It is currently leading with 216 seats out of 289. In Tamil Nadu, AIADMK is all set to retain power as out of the 232 seats, it is leading with 127 seats.

Read:- UPPSC appointments row: CBI inquiry not feasible, Yogi govt on backfoot!

BJP on the other hand is leading with 76 seats out of the total 126. In Kerala and Puducherry, Left is leading with 82 out of 140 whereas Congress+ is leading with 11 out of 30 seats.

AIADMK’s victory which has become quite certain is seeing massive celebrations outside the residence of party leader and Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa in Chennai.

Read:- After early jolts, BJP leading in Gujarat

Unlike in West Bengal and Tamil Nadu, the governments were set to change in Assam and Kerala.

As widely expected, the Left Democratic Front (LDF) led by the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) was set to dethrone the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF).

Read:- Rahul Gandhi takes on Modi