BJP gets 25 seats in Madhya Pradesh civic elections

Bhopal: The ruling BJP has won 25 of the 43 local bodies in MP, getting better of Congress who managed to win 15 seats.

The victory for BJP comes against the backdrop of a farmers’ protest.

Read:- Lalu Yadav calls Bihar Congress leaders 'Chirkut'

The election for 43 local bodies, including four municipalities and 39 nagar parishads, was organized on 11 August.

Congress is quite happy with the outcome of the result. “We have defeated the BJP candidates at Nasrullaganj, a town which falls under (Union minister and Vidisha MP) Sushma Swaraj’s parliamentary constituency, and at Sanawad, which comes under state BJP chief Nandkumar Singh Chauhan’s parliamentary seat,” pointed out Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Ajay Singh.

Read:- Dawood trying to negotiate his return with BJP: Raj Thackeray

Ajay Singh also highlighted that the party had won 13 of the 31 local bodies, which had witnessed quite a bit of campaigning by Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

Meanwhile, Shivraj Singh Chouhan attributed the victory to the “development work” of his government.

Assembly polls are due in Madhya Pradesh next year.

Read:- Rahul Gandhi tells reason why anger is building up against Modi govt!