BJP releases first list of candidates for Manipur state elections

Photo of India's PriMe Minister Narendra Modi along with Bhartiya Janata Party President Amit Shah.

New Delhi: The Bhartiya Janata party (BJP) today released its first list of candidates for upcoming Manipur state assembly elections which is lined up for voting on March 4th and March 8th.

The BJPs Central Election Committee (CEC) during its meeting presided over by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with party President Amit Shah and other senior cabinet minister who finalised the candidates for Manipur polls.

The party has fielded L Susindro Meitei from Khurai, N. Biren Singh from Heingang, L Rameshwar Meitei from Keirao, Thakur Biswajit Singh from Thongju, Ibomcha Singh from Lamlai and Nimaichand Luwang from Andro assembly seat.

The CEC has also announced candidates for Sagolband, Keisamthong, Yaiskul, Wangkhei, Knothoujam, Patsoi, Langthabal, Wangoi, Mayang Imphal, Nambol, Oinam, Moirang, Thanga, Kumbi, Lilong, Thoubal, Wangkhem, Heirok, Wanging Tentha, Khangabok, Wabgai, Hiyanglam, SugnooTadubi (ST) and Tamei (ST) assembly seats.

The 60-member house will be held in two phases for Manipur polls and counting of votes will take place on March 11th.

A total of 38 assembly segments will go to the polls, in the first phase of the 11th state assembly election.

Read:- S M Krishna postpones his meeting with BJP due to sister’s death