Congress releases final list of candidates for Punjab polls

BJP-led govt in Goa will not stay in power for full term: Cong

New Delhi: The Congress Party today released its final list of candidates for upcoming polls in Punjab in which it has include remaining three seats, the voting for the same is scheduled for 4th February.

The list includes names of Inderbir Singh who has been chosen to contest from Amritsar South along with Manju Bansal who will be contesting from Mansa seat.

According to a statement given by the Congress party, Ludhiana East ticket has been given to Sanjay Talwar.

Read:- Congress slam CPI-M for "playing spoilsport"

The party has announced its list of candidates for all the 117 constituencies for the state assembly elections.

The sitting MLA Bolaria from Amritsar South had quit the Shiromani Akali Dal to join the Congress in October past year. Whereas Bansal is the wife of former Congress MLA Mangat Rai Bansal.

On other hand, Talwar is the sitting Congress councilor from Ludhiana.

Read:- Trouble for Kejriwal: 20 AAP MLAs to be disqualified for holding office of profit!

The Congress has projected its heavyweights against top leaders of the ruling SAD in the state for the first time.

The state President of Congress party, Amarinder Singh will fight against Chief Minister Prakash Singh Badal from his favorite seat of Lambi and he will also contest from his traditional seat of Patiala urban.

While party’s young insurgent member and Ludhiana MP Ravneet Singh Bittu will contest election from Jalalabad which is the stronghold of Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal of the state.

The Congress has also nominated cricketer turned politician Navjot Singh Sidhu as its candidate from Amritsar East.

This is for the first time that state is going to witness three-way fight between the ruling SAD-BJP combination along with Congress and the newly debutante Aam Admi Party (AAP).

Read:- Cong takes on Govt after Pakistani shelling