Congress releases first list of 41 candidates for UP voting

Photo of flag of Congress Party.

Lucknow: Congress today released list of 41 candidates for the upcoming Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections after the pre-poll alliance with Samajwadi Party was announced on Sunday evening.

The list consist of candidates from Behat, Nakur, Deoband, Shamli to Bareilly, Mathura and Govardhan. The party announced the list after the pre-poll alliance between Samajwadi Party and Congress was announced on Sunday evening.

Congress state president Raj Babbar announced the alliance between Congress and Samajwadi Party and stated that Congress will be contesting in 105 seats and the rest 298 seats will be contested by Samajwadi Party.

Read:- Congress plans to rope in more women to join party

Both parties have been striving to forge an alliance with each other. Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav expects that he will be able to beat anti-incumbency for the party with the help of congress in the state.

The Congress asserts a significant influence within the Brahmin Community in the state. One of the reasons for fielding for former chief Minister of Delhi Sheila Dixit was to consolidate its Brahmin vote bank.

However, it failed to convert the influence in the number of winning seats. The party will be trying to make a comeback in the state where the party has been out of power for the last 27 years.

Read:- Modi attacks Cong govt in Karnataka

In the last assembly election, Congress managed to win only 28 seats. However, after an alliance been made with Samajwadi party, Congress party expects to perform better in the upcoming election and return to power in the state after 27 years.

Uttar Pradesh will vote in seven phases in the upcoming assembly elections. In the first phase of polling on February 11, 73 assembly seats will go to poll.

The last date for filing the nomination for the first phase of polls is January 24 and will be taken up for scrutiny on January 25. The nominations can be withdrawn till January 27. The counting and results will be out on March 11.

Here is the list of the 41 candidates announced by Congress party for the upcoming Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections:

Read:- Arvinder Singh Lovely makes his way back to Congress