Congress thump BJP in Gurdaspur bypoll

Chandigarh: Good news for Congress, as their candidate Sunil Jakhar has won the Gurdaspur by-election with huge margin of 1,93,219 votes defeating Bhartiya Janta Party candidate Sawarn Singh Salaria.

Jakhar got 4,99,752 votes against 3,06,553 votes casted for runner up Salaria. AAP candidate Suresh Khajuria couldn’t save his security deposit with a total of 23,579 votes that he got.

Read:- Arvinder Singh Lovely makes his way back to Congress

It is worthwhile mentioning that he won all 10 assembly constituencies that fall in Gurdaspur parliamentary seat which was won by BJP candidate Vinod Khanna in 2014. Congress had won eight of these ten seats in 2017 assembly elections.

Gurdaspur is a Hindu dominating parliamentary constituency and the Congress candidate had also asked for votes for the alleged falliure of Union government on demonisation and GST issues.

Read:- Congress worker Shoaib found murdered in Kannur

After winning elections, Jakhar said “I had said it from the very first day that this election will be a mandate on the policies of Union government led by Modi. People have vent their anger against demonitisation and GST by making me an MP with a huge margin of votes. I had asked people to vote for me against BJP’s economic and communal agenda. People have responded to my call and it has sent a clear message to the Union government on behalf of the whole country that people are fed up of its policies and it is time for change.”


Read:- North India see dip in mercury after drizzle