Goa assembly polls: BJP releases list of 29 candidates

Photo of Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) logo.

New Delhi: The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) today released its first list of 29 candidates for the Goa assembly elections scheduled to be held on February 4th.

It is important to notice that the list includes the names of the 18 incumbent legislators.

After a meeting of the party’s central election committee (CEC), Union Minister J.P. Nadda announced the names of the candidates.

Read:- S M Krishna postpones his meeting with BJP due to sister’s death

Party has announced the candidature of Chief Minister Laxmikant Yeshwant Parsekar from Mandrem, Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar from Pernem (SC), Kiran Kandolkar from Thivim, Francis D’Souza from Mapusa, Dayanand Rayu Mandrekar from Siolim, Dilip Dnyaneshwar Parulekar from Saligao and Michael V. Lobo from Calangute.

Interestingly, Ramrao Wagh, brother of sitting St. Andre MLA Vishnu Wagh who was hospitalised last year, has been finalised for the same legislative assembly seat.

The Saffron Party has given ticket to Glenn Souza Ticlo from Aldona, Sidharth Sripad Kuncalienker from Panaji, Pramod Pandurang Sawant from Sanquelim, Mahadev Narayan Naik from Siroda and Milind Sagun Naik from Mormugao.

Read:- Mayawati seeks vote for 'bahubali' candidate Mukhtar Ansari

However the list of 29 MLAs does not include candidates for the Mayem and Canacona seat, which has seen intense internal strife between the sitting MLAs Anant Shet and Ramesh Tawadkar respectively and rival candidates. While Shet is a Speaker of the Goa legislative assembly, Tawadkar is a sports minister.

The elections for the 40 assembly seats are scheduled to be held on February 4th and results of the polls will be announced on March 11th.