Governor Ram Naik approves three names for MLC

Lucknow: Governor Ram Naik, on Friday, has nominated three names- Balwant Singh Ramoowalia, Zaheer Hasan and Madhukar Jetley, as the members of Legislative Council. Sources close to the government say that Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav will meet Naik in the evening to convince him to accept the other names as well.

Sources say that Mr. Yadav will meet governor Ram Naik at around 5.00 pm in the evening.

Read:- Pathetic! 'Heartless' UP police refuse to help bleeding teens, both die on spot

Governor had earlier turned down five names put forward by the state government for nomination as members of Legislative Council as they did not qualify in that category.

Naik then asked the government to send fresh names.

Read:- Chilly waves return in UP, fog creates trouble

Nine MLC seats had fallen vacant last year. While the Governor had cleared four names recommended by the state government — after returning the file twice — his nod to the remaining five names was still pending.