India gets first three women fighter pilots in IAF

Hyderabad: A milestone was achieved on Saturday as India’s first three women fighter pilots were commissioned into the Indian Air Force (IAF). Bhavana Kant, Mohana Singh and Avani Chaturvedi are the three women who have been commissioned as the fighter pilots in IAF.

The commissioning ceremony of the three women fighter pilots was attended by Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar. The ceremony which will take place at the Air Force Academy in Dundigal, Hyderabad, will be attended by flight cadets of the various IAF branches. A graduation parade will also take place at the ceremony.

Read:- Sitharaman's take on S&P rating

The three fighter pilots will now go to Bidar in Karnataka for their stage III training on Hawk advanced jet trainers which will go on for a year following which they will be allowed to fly supersonic warplanes.

Out of the six female cadets three were chosen to become fighter pilots by the government after the IAF plan to induct women fighter pilots was approved in October.

Read:- Indian Navy's all-women team starts a 'historic' journey