India gets target of 261 runs to win series vs Kiwis at Ranchi ODI

Photo of Indian cricket team players celebrating wicket of New Zealand batsman during their 4th ODI at Ranchi.

Ranchi: After winning toss New Zealand team elected to bat first against host Indian, made 260/7 in the fourth One Day International’s (ODIs) at Ranchi today.

Earlier, visiting New Zealand team today won toss for the first time in the ongoing ODI series against India and decided to bat first at the JSCA International stadium today during their fourth match in the five games series.

Read:- IndvsSA: India will face different challenges, says Philander

The Indian team which is on lead side by 2-1 in the ongoing ODI series, the host will try to seal the series in the fourth ODI.

On other side host Indian team will aim to pocket the series against the Kiwis in the fourth game at the JSCA International stadium on Wednesday.

Read:- India vs Sri Lanka 3rd Test (Match Preview)

The Indian team has defeated Kiwis by seven wickets during their third ODI at Mohali.

Interestingly this is the home ground of Indian skipper Mahindra Singh Dhoni where his fans are eagerly waiting to see him scoring big for them.

In this fourth game all eyes will be on India’s struggling opening duo of Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane as they have failed to give their best in the first three outings.

Read:- India slaughter Sri Lanka in 2nd Test, ride on Ashwin antics

The bowling department has been very impressive in all the matches so far. Seamer Umesh Yadav will lead the pack consisting of Jasprit Bumrah and Pandya.

Leg-spinner Amit Mishra along with left-armer Axar Patel has also been among’st the wickets but more importantly it is Jadhav, who has proved to be Dhoni’s go-to man in the series so far.

On the other hand, Wednesday’s encounter will give the New Zealanders a golden opportunity to draw level and go into the final match with a chance.

Brief Scores:

Read:- Corruption scandal in India vs New Zealand Pune ODI

New Zealand: 260/7 in 50 over’s (Martin Guptil 72, Kane Williamson 41, Amit Mishra 2/41).

The Squads:

Team India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain & wk), Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Hardik Pandya, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jayant Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand team: Kane Williamson (Captain), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Luke Ronchi (wk), Corey Anderson, Tim Southee, Martin Guptill, B.J. Watling (wk), Matt Henry, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, James Neesham, Anton Devcich, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell.


Read:- India vs New Zealand 1st ODI (Match Preview)