India seals historic Test series against Sri Lanka

Colombo: Skipper Virat Kohli and his boys make history in Sri Lanka by winning a Test series after 22 years at the Sri Lankan turf on Tuesday. The visiting team won the decisive third match by 117 runs on the fifth day at the Sinhalese Sports Club (SSC) ground here.

India won a test series in Sri Lanka in 1993 under the captaincy of Mohammad Azharuddin.

Read:- Kohli clinches ICC ODI cricketer of the year 2017 award

In pursuit of 386 runs for victory on the final day, Sri Lanka were bowled out for 268 in their second innings despite strong resistance from captain Angelo Mathews (110) and Kusal Perera (70).

Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin picked up figures of 4-69 and was ably supported by pacer Ishant Sharma (3-32).

Read:- Blind Cricket World Cup: India thrash Pakistan by 7 wickets

It was also Virat Kohli’s first series triumph as captain of the Test team.

Ashwin took 21 wickets to be declared the Man-of-the-Series. Ishant also became only the fourth Indian pacer after stalwarts Kapil Dev, Javagal Srinath and Zaheer Khan to bag 200 Test wickets.

Cheteshwar Pujara was declared the Man-of-the-Match for his unbeaten 145 that propelled India to 312 in the first innings.

Read:- South Africa coach Gibson willing to go with four quicks against India