India vs New Zealand: Virat Kohli elect to bat first

Kolkata: Indian skipper Virat Kohli today elected to bat first against the New Zealand team after winning the toss at the Eden Gardens in the second Test match.

There were to crucial changes in the Indian team as Shikhar Dhawan replaced the injured Lokesh Rahul, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar made it to the final 11 in place of Umesh Yadav.

Read:- Jasprit Bumrah's chiseled physique takes Twitter with storm

New Zealand suffered jolt with their regular skipper Kane Williamson ruled out of the game due to indisposition. Ross Taylor went for the toss as the stand-in captain.

The teams:

Read:- Nehra comments on India's performance in first Test

India: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha, Rohit Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Murali Vijay.

New Zealand: Ross Taylor (c), Matt Henry, Luke Ronchi, Henry Nicholls, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult, Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Jeetan Patel, Mitchell Santner, BJ Walting

Read:- Virat Kohli talks about new ambition