India vs Sri Lanka: Visitors to bowl first in first Test

Sri Lanka today won the toss and elected to bat first against the Indian team in the first Test match to be played here at the Eden gardens.

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal(c), Niroshan Dickwella(w), Dasun Shanaka, Dilruwan Perera, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Gamage

Read:- India thrash Sri Lanka in 3rd T20I, complete whitewash

India (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami

Virat Kohli: I don’t think the wicket has so many demons in it. The spinners will come into play from day 3 onwards. First two days will be challenging for the batters. The surface does have grass but does not look that threatening. We have 5 batsmen, Saha, two all-rounders in Ashwin and Jadeja, Umesh, Bhuvi and Shami.

Read:- India vs Sri Lanka 2nd T20 live streaming and live cricket score

Dinesh Chandimal: We will have a bowl first. Lots of moisture on the wicket, lot of grass cover as well and we need to take advantage of it. We played some good cricket in UAE. The team put their heart and soul in it and credit goes to the entire team. We are confident coming for this tour. From the last tour, we have made three changes to the squad. Today, we are going to have 6 batters, 4 bowlers and a fast bowling all-rounder.