Indian cricket team departs for West Indies tour

Mumbai: The India cricket team with 16-members squad led by skipped Virat Kohli left for West Indies yesterday night to play four test format series going to start later this month.

Newly appointed chief coach Anil Kumble went aboard along with some other staff and team members.

Read:- Dinesh Karthik to join Team India in place of injured Saha

The team will start its tour with a two game against the West Indies Cricket Board President’s XI at Warner Park in Basseterre, St Kitts on July 9th which was further followed by a three day warm-up fixture at the same venue starting from July 14th to 16th.

The first test is to be played at the Vivian Richards Cricket ground in Antigua from July 21 to 25.

Read:- Sachin Tendulkar has some tips for Team India for comeback in 2nd Test

The other three Test matches are scheduled to be held at Sabina Park in Kingston, Jamaica (Jul 30-Aug 3), Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in Gros Islet, St Lucia (Aug 9-13) and Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad (Aug 18-22).

The team Indian played its last tour at the Caribbean islands for a Test series in 2011 that the visitors clinched 1-0 by winning the opening game at Kingston and drawing the other two matches in Bridgetown and Roseau.

Interestingly, Kohli is returning to the West Indies, where he made his Test debut and now he is returning after five years as the captain of the team as a premier batsman.

Read:- IndvsSA: India will face different challenges, says Philander

The Indian team squad consists of: Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane (v c), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, K L Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhimaan Saha, R Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur, Stuart Binny.