Kohli to lead ODI Team of the Year, Ashwin named ICC Cricketer of the Year

Photo of star cricket players Virat Kohli along with Ravichandran Ashwin.

Dubai: Indian Test skipper Virat Kohli was today selected as the skipper to lead ODI Team of the Year while on the other hand it was a big moment for the Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin as he was named as the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) Cricketer of the Year.

Among the Indian players who were given place in the ODI team, it was batsman Rohit Sharma and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja. Ashwin was the only Indian in ICC’s Test Team of the Year beside being the Test Cricketer of the Year.

Ashwin has now the honor of being the third Indian player and 12th player overall to have bagged the Garfield Sobers Trophy for being the best cricketer of the year.

Ahead of Rahul Dravid (2004) and Sachin Tendulkar (2010). Other recipients of the prestigious trophy include Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis (joint-winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson (2009 and 2014), Jonathan Trott (2011), Kumar Sangakkara (2012), Michael Clarke (2013) and Steve Smith (2015).

Read:- Brazil legend Ronaldinho bids adieu to football