List of 30 smart cities announced by Govt

smart cities
List of 30 smart cities announced by Govt

NEW DELHI: List of 30 cites for development as smart cities was today declared by the central government taking the tally to 90 under Smart City Mission.

It was nothing less than a feat for the Kerala capital Thiruvanathapuram as it managed to bag the number one spot in the rankings followed by the Chhattisgarh’s new capital Naya Raipur.

Read:- PM Modi's speech at Davos

Another major development in the list that got highlighted was the inclusion of the both capitals of Jammu & Kashmir, Jammu and Srinagar. However, it was a bad day again for Congress chief Sonia Gandhi’s constituency Raebareli.

Even the NCR city of Meerut failed to find place. There was a tie between Raebareli and Meerut when Uttar Pradesh had first sent the list of cities for getting smart city tag. Even Ghaziabad did not get selected.

Uttarakhand capital Dehradun this time made it to the list. Mumbai did not participate in the competition. The names were announced by Union urban development minister M Venkaiah Naidu.

Read:- Earthquake of magnitude 6.0 hits Indonesia