Major Railway stations to be developed under Smart City plans

Photo related to modern Indian railway station.

New Delhi: The Indian Railways in a major initiative today signed a MoU with Union Urban Development Ministry to redevelop railway stations and adjoining areas on the lines of Smart City.

To enhance passenger amenities, easy access to stations and enabling optimal utilisation of land at railway stations, the MoU for 10 cities was signed in the presence of Union Urban Development Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu and Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu.

Read:- Samsung registers big revenue of Rs 34,300 cr, stands tall in Indian market

These stations are: Sarai Rohilla (Delhi), Bhubaneswar, Lucknow, Varnasi, Jaipur, Kota, Thane, Margao (Goa), Tirupati and Puducherry.

Both the ministers lauded the joint initiative as a historic landmark that brings synergy in development of smart cities since there cannot be a Smart City without a smart railway station.

Read:- Check out the first look of Whatsapp Business app!

Naidu said on the occasion, “This convergence based city development will result in qualitative improvement in city life.”


Read:- Check out Apple’s new set of emojis for iOS 11.1 version!