Modi expands council of ministers, four Cabinet and nine Ministers of State take oath

News Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi today expanded his council of ministers, as many as four have been promoted to the Cabinet and nine new faces have been inducted as Ministers of State.

The new Cabinet ministers are Petroleum and Natural Gas Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, Power Minister Piyush Goyal, Commerce and Industry Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and Minority Affairs Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi.

Read:- Netanyahu in Ahmedabad for a day, PM Modi ready for roadshow

The new Ministers of State are former diplomat Hardeep Singh Puri, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat (MP), former Mumbai Police Commissioner Satya Pal Singh (MP), former bureaucrat Alphons Kannanthanam as well as Ashwini Choubey, Shiv Pratap Shukla, Virendra Kumar, Anant Kumar Hegde and Raj Kumar Singh (all MPs).

The new ministers and those elevated to the cabinet were sworn in by President Ram Nath Kovind at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Read:- Israeli PM elated on India visit, to discuss bilateral relations soon