Rajya Sabha passes historic GST bill with 203 votes

New Delhi: The much awaited Goods and Services Tax Bill or GST Bill, officially known as The Constitution Bill, 2014, was today passed by the Rajya Sabha members with 203 votes.

The Rajya Sabha on Wednesday commonly passed the relevant Constitution amendment bill to pave the way for the introduction of a pan-India Goods and Services Tax regime.

Read:- Technology should be used for betterment of humankind: Modi

The upper house passed what is called the Constitution (One Hundred and Twenty-Second Amendment) Bill, 2014, with all the 203 members present voting in its favour.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley also introduced some of the amendments to the main bill; however, had a few rebels.

Read:- Introducing Avani Chaturvedi, first Indian women to fly a fighter jet

Earlier, the AIADMK had walked out, 203 members present voted in favour of the main bill.

The bill will now go again to the Lok Sabha for its nod since the government had moved some amendments to get political parties, particularly the Congress.


Read:- PM inaugurates new BJP multi-storey office