Ruling BJP clinches both Rajya Sabha seats in Jharkhand

Ranchi: The Bhartiya Janata Party today won both Rajya Sabha seats in Jharkhand with the help of cross-voting. The minimum number of votes required to win was 28. And BJP candidate Poddar won the election on the basis of second preference votes.

In the 81-member assembly, 79 legislators cast their votes. BJP candidate and Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi secured 29 votes while second candidate Mahesh Podaar secured 24. JMM candidate Basant Soren managed to secure 26 votes.

Read:- Coal Scam Case: Former Jharkhand CM Madhu Koda found Guilty of corruption

JVM-P President Babulal Marandi said: “The BJP is murdering democracy. Money power played a key role in the Rajya Sabha poll.”

Read:- Gujarat Rajya Sabha Election Result Live update: Ahmed Patel win the battle, say souces