Several new face to sworn as ministers in Cabinet today

New Delhi: The Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi will expand his ministry today at 11 am; there is chance of several new faces to be sworn in as Union Council of Ministers.

Party sources said, Modi who is set to reshuffle his council of ministers on Tuesday by axing six ministers and inducting 19 new faces in a major exercise since he took power in May 2014.

Read:- 'Padmavati' controversy: Congress seeks I&B Ministry involvement

Several ministers fly down to the capital on Monday from Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Karnataka and Uttarakhand, were summoned by BJP President Amit Shah. All of them met Shah over tea in the afternoon.

According to BJP party sources, near about two dozen names were doing rounds for induction, promotion or to be dropped from ministry.

Read:- Govt afraid of Rahul Gandhi, says NCP supremo Sharad Pawar

Near around 19 new faces may find place in the ministerial council and four ministers of state with independent charge were likely to be promoted to the cabinet.

Sources told journalists that none of the new ministers would get the cabinet status.

Ministers with independent charge likely to join the cabinet are Piyush Goyal (Power, Coal, and New and Renewable Energy), Dharmendra Pradhan (Petroleum and Natural Gas), Nirmala Sitharaman (Industries and Commerce) and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi (Minority Affairs).

Read:- Modi wish journalists on National Press Day

The new faces may be are from Lok Sabha members Arjun Ram Meghwal, P.P. Chaudhary (both Rajasthan), Anupriya Patel, Mahendra Nath Pandey and Krishna Raj (all Uttar Pradesh), Ajay Tamta (Uttarakhand), S.S. Ahluwalia (West Bengal), Mansukh Bhai Mandavia and Jaswant Sinh Bhabhor (both Gujarat), Subhash Ramrao Bhamre (Maharashtra), Rajan Gohain (Assam) and Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi (Karnataka).

The likely new ministers from the Rajya Sabha are Anil Desai and Ramdas Athawale (Maharashtra), Purushottam Rupala (Gujarat), Faggan Singh Kulaste, M.J. Akbar and Anil Madhav Dave (all Madhya Pradesh) and Vijay Goel, the former Delhi BJP president who represents Rajasthan.


Read:- Relations between India and the US are growing: Modi