Shurhozelie Liezietsu becomes new Chief Minister of Nagaland

Photo of Shurhozelie Liezietsu who became new Chief Minister of Nagaland.

Kohima: Nagaland Governor P B Acharya today has given oath to 81-year-old Shurhozelie Liezietsu who will serve as the new Chief Minister of the state.

Liezietsu was sworn-in along with 11 ministers who were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Acharya at the Raj Bhavan.

Interestingly, the new Chief Minister is not a member of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly and he will have to get elected within six months from taking office.

On Monday, Liezietsu became the consensus candidate for the CM’s post after the ruling Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) unanimously elected him leader of its legislature party during its meeting attended by 59 MLAs.

Read:- Congress slam CPI-M for "playing spoilsport"

Liezietsu, who is the Naga People’s Front president, succeeds T R Zeliang who stepped down on Sunday amidst of protests by various tribal organisations against the state government’s decision to reserve 33 per cent seats for women in urban local body elections.

The ministers inducted today were Kiyanilie Peseyie, Yanthungo Patton, P Longon, C Kipili Sangtam, C L John, Yitachu, Paiwang Konyak, Vikheho Swu, Chotisuh Sazo, Imkong L Imchen and G Kaito Aye. Nagaland has a 60-member Assembly.

Read:- Gorakhpur Mahotsav a priority for Yogi govt, questions raised