SIT awards life imprisonment to 11 convicts in 2002 Gulberg Society Massacre

Ahmedabad: On Friday, a special SIT court announced verdict in the 2002 Gulberg Society Massacre which claimed lives of 69 people including former Congress MP Ehsan Jafri. In its judgment, life imprisonment has been awarded to 11 convicts, 7-years of imprisonment to 12 convicts and 10 year sentence to one convict.

In court’s hearing on June 2, 11 convicts faced charges of murder and other offences whereas 13 others including a VHP leader Atul Vaidya were charges of lesser offences. 36 others named in the case were acquitted by the SIT court.

Read:- Sessions court to pronounce quantum of punishment in Gulberg Society Massacre today

Activist Teesta Setalvad was happy with the court’s judgement, however at the same time she was a little unsatisfied with the lesser sentence granted to the other convicts.

The Gulberg Society Massacre took place on February 28, 2002 at the time when Prime Minister Narendra Modi was Gujarat’s Chief Minister. The incident took the nation by storm when a angry mob of 400 attacked the society and killed 69 residents including Jafri.

Read:- Special court acquits 36, convicts 24 in Gulbarg society massacre

The incident was among the 9 cases registered and probed by the apex court which took place during the 2002 Gujarat Riots.

During trial, around 338 witnesses were cross-examined.