Three RS seats for Congress from Karnataka

Bengaluru: Congress today clinched three seats while on the other hand opposition BJP managed to win one seat in the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha from Karnataka.

Fernandes and Ramesh got 46 votes each, while Ramamurthy secured 52, and Sitharaman bagged 47. The winners are Oscar Fernandes, Jairam Ramesh and K.C. Ramamurthy (all Congress) and Union Minister for commerce and Industry Nirmala Sitharaman of the BJP.

Read:- Congress slam CPI-M for "playing spoilsport"

Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) candidate B.M. Farooq failed to get the required votes and had to be contended with just 33 votes.

Read:- Cong takes on Govt after Pakistani shelling