Three sacked ministers back in Akhilesh regime, during cabinet expansion

Photo of Samajwadi supremo Mulayam Singh (left) along with Uttar Pradesh state unit chief Shivpal Singh and Chief Minister of UP Akhilesh Yadav

Lucknow: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav today expanded his cabinet ministry for the eighth time since he assumed office in March 2012.

As expected Gayatri Prasad Prajapati, Manoj Pandey and Shivakant Ojha were taken back in ministry who all were sacked by the Chief Minister earlier.

Read:- Akhilesh Yadav not interested in any alliance

Apart from this 10 new ministers were also inducted in Akhilesh cabinet during swearing-in ceremony at Raj Bhavan in presence of Governor Ram Naik.

Out of the 10, seven were accorded the cabinet rank and three ministers of state.

Read:- UPPSC appointments row: CBI inquiry not feasible, Yogi govt on backfoot!

The expansion of Akhilesh takes place after Mulayam Singh Yadav and Shivpal Singh overturned the sacking of three ministers, including Gayatri Prajapati, who was accused of being involved in illegal mining and land grabbing.

Akhilesh Yadav, has been embarrassed by swearing-in of Gayatri Prajapati, whose re-induction in the state cabinet was announced by his father and Samajwadi Party chairman Mulayam Singh Yadav a few days back.

The number of ministers after today’s expansion in the state government rose to 61, which is one more than the upper limit of 60-minister.

Read:- Ex minister RK Chaudhary joins hands with Samajwadi Party

But few minutes later, Minister of State Laxmikant Nishad was sacked, bringing the head count of ministers back to 60.

The others who attended the swearing-in-ceremony were party Chief Mulayam Singh Yadav along with his younger brother and state unit chief Shivpal Singh Yadav.


Read:- Akhilesh's presence a boost for Meera Vardhan during campaigning