Trouble for Kejriwal: 20 AAP MLAs to be disqualified for holding office of profit!

Photo of the CM Arvind Kejriwal.

New Delhi: In a major blow to the Arvind Kejriwal government in Delhi, the Election Commission (EC) on Friday recommended disqualification of 20 Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MLAs for holding ‘office of profit,’ according to media reports.

The recommendation has been sent to President Ramnath Kovind for his nod. The President is bound to go by the recommendation of the Commission. In cases where petitions are made seeking disqualification of lawmakers, the President sends a reference to the EC which decides on the case by sending back its opinion.

Read:- Civil servants should be allowed to work with dignity: Rajnath on Delhi Chief Secretary assault

Following the shocking move, the AAP has approached the Delhi High Court against EC’s recommendation to disqualify its MLAs. In the present case, the petition was made to disqualify 21 MLAs, but one had resigned a few months back.

The EC, however, said that the disqualification is sub-judice, and it will not comment on what recommendation has been given to the President.

Read:- Delhi bureaucrat alleges assault by BJP MLAs, AAP denies

A petition filed by lawyer Prashant Patel sought the disqualification of the MLAs on the grounds that they were holding an ‘office of profit’ as parliamentary secretaries.

In 2015, soon after AAP swept the Delhi elections, Kejriwal had appointed 21 legislators as parliamentary secretaries. This disqualification will lead to by-polls in Delhi.

Read:- Kejriwal condemns Gurugram school bus attack