Uttarakhand Trust Vote: Blow for BJP as SC rules against nine rebel MLAs

New Delhi: The Supreme Court’s ruling, on Monday, went against nine disqualified rebel MLAs as they are not allowed to take part in the floor test to be held on May 10 in the Uttarakhand assembly.

The top court will hear the case on July 12.

Read:- PM inaugurates new BJP multi-storey office

The rebel MLAs moved a plea in the apex court earlier on the day challenging their disqualification from the Uttarakhand assembly. Ousted chief minister Harish Rawat will move a trust vote on Tuesday in a court-monitored floor test.

During the floor test, President’s rule will be imposed in the state.

Read:- Candidates contesting elections must declare source of their income, rules Supreme Court

The Supreme Court today clarified that the voting during tomorrow’s floor test in Uttarakhand Assembly on the trust vote motion moved by sacked chief minister Harish Rawat will be overseen by Principal Secretary (Legislative Assembly and Parliamentary Affairs) in the state.