Voting begins in five districts of Punjab

Chandigarh: Subsequent to the declaration of the re-polls by the Election Commission, voting today began in the five districts of Punjab with holiday today declared in these five districts.

People started to come out and cast their vote in Amritsar, Moga, Muktsar, Mansa and Sangrur districts, where the re-poll has been ordered.

Read:- Trouble for Kejriwal: 20 AAP MLAs to be disqualified for holding office of profit!

There has been a declaration of the ‘paid holiday’ in factories, shops and commercial establishments situated in the area of Amritsar parliamentary constituency and the assembly constituencies.

Election Commission today asked for the re-polls to be conducted in 48 polling stations of five assembly constituencies in Punjab where polling got interrupted due to problem in electronic voting machines (EVMs) and voter verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) equipment.

Read:- Road accident takes life of four in Rajasthan due to fog

Re-polling has been ordered in 12 polling stations in Majitha, nine in Muktsar, six in Sangrur, four in Sardulgarh and one polling station in Moga.